Karen Campbell named Provost and Vice President at Albright College

(August 2019) — After serving as acting provost and vice president for academic affairs for a year, Karen A. Campbell, Ph.D., has been appointed to the permanent position of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Albright College, following a recommendation by the college’s Faculty Executive Committee.

Karen A. Campbell, Ph.D.
Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Health Sciences Advisor, P. Kenneth Nase M.D. ’55 Chair of Biology and Dean of the Faculty

A member of the Albright College biology faculty for three decades, Campbell has taught a variety of classes ranging from general biology for first-year students to advanced physiology and senior seminars in behavioral endocrinology and neurobiology. Named the P. Kenneth Nase Chair of Biology in 1999, Karen is also known as Albright’s own “Batwoman,” thanks to a 35-year interest in the study of bats, which began in Ontario, Canada, where she was participating in an undergraduate field study. This interest has continued through her work with students in the Albright Creative Research Experience (ACRE) program.

Since September of 2018, Campbell has successfully led Albright’s Title III initiatives to increase first-year to sophomore retention, launched the college’s Lions’ Edge advising platform, and hired a Student Success team, Registrar and Dean for the School of Professional Studies.

“I am grateful to Karen for her focus on our student success and retention efforts, her leadership of Academic Affairs, and her many years of dedicated commitment to Albright College,” said Albright President Jacquelyn S. Fetrow, Ph.D. ’82, in a letter to the campus community.

In addition to a Bachelor of Science degree from Queen’s University, Campbell earned a Master of Science degree from York University and a doctorate in physiology and zoology from Indiana University. She is the recipient of numerous distinguished teaching awards, including the Dr. Henry P. and M. Paige Laughlin Award and the Lindback Foundation teaching award.

Related News