“The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time," Directed by Jeffrey Lentz '85

Domino Players invited to perform on Kennedy Center Festival’s main stage

Albright College’s Domino Players theatre troupe has been invited to perform “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time” on the main stage of the Kennedy Center American College Theatre (KCACTF) Region II Festival, in the University of Maryland’s Kay Theatre, Jan. 17, 2020.

 “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time," Directed by Jeffrey Lentz '85
“The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time,” Directed by Jeffrey Lentz ’85

Based on a best-selling 2003 novel by Mark Haddon and adapted by Simon Stephens, “Curious Incident” is a Tony and Oliver Award-winning play about a 15-year-old math whiz who lives with his divorced dad in a working-class town near London. After being falsely accused of killing a neighbor’s dog, the brilliant boy — who has difficulty dealing with the sounds and stresses of everyday life — decides to investigate the crime. The secrets he unearths prompt him to leave his trusted teacher and the familiar streets of his hometown for a life-changing train trip to London.

Albright’s Domino Players took on the play in November, directed by Jeffrey Lentz, M.M. ’85, senior artist in residence and chair of music. To help audience members “see” inside the head of the main character (played by theatre major Bence Veres ’21) Albright’s design crew created a colorful, mathematical space, and filled Wachovia Theatre with purposeful music, meant to help the audience feel the character’s heart.

Last year, Albright’s theatre troupe received an astounding nine national awards for its production of “A Raisin in the Sun,” including the Kennedy Center’s highest national honor for Outstanding Production of a Play — the troupe’s third national title since 2007.

“This is the 11th time that Albright College had been invited to bring a production to this prestigious regional theatre festival,” said Lentz. “Albright is a three time recipient of  KCACTF’s highest honor — the National Award for Best Production of a Play (in 2007, 2016 and 2019) — along with dozens of other national accolades for design, directing, acting, etc., throughout our history with this organization.”

* Denotes an inducted member of the Domino Players Company.
Christopher Boone — Bence Veres* ’21, theatre major
Siobhan — Sania Fontaine* ’20, theatre major
Ed Boone — Alex Hermans* ’20, theatre major
Judy Boone — McKenzie Sullivan* ’22, psychology and theatre major
Eileen Shears — Allison Kephart* ’20, arts administration and history major
Roger Shears — Cameron Girvan, Ireland exchange student
Reverend Peters — Andrew Svarczkopf* ’21, theatre major
Mrs. Gascoyne — Robin Vogel ’23, Alpha program
Mrs. Alexander — Kristen Henry* ’20, theatre major
London Station Policeman and Swindon Policeman — Joey Love*’20, theatre major
Duty Sergeant — Ebony Hicks’23, theatre major
Mr. Thompson/Drunk — Michael Hertzog’21, mathematics and theatre major
Mr. Wise/Policeman — Kadeem Preston ’23, theatre major
London Policeman — Kyle Zayas ’23, music industry studies major

Director/Sound Designer — Jeffrey Lentz* ’85
Scenic Designer — Dahlia Al-Habieli
Costume Designer — Paula Trimpey
Lighting Designer — Wayne E. Vettleson*
Props Designer — Cocol Bernal*
Technical Director — Bill Balmer*
Production Stage Manager — Lauren Farrell* ’22, arts administration and theatre major
Assistant Director — Makenzie Mettler* ’22, communications/journalism and theatre major
Assistant Stage Managers — Lucas Daniels* ’22, arts administration and theatre major, Jonathon Moss
Props Mistress — Libby Harford ’23, American civilization major
Props Crew — Karis King, Kasuto Sakogashira ’23, theatre major and Andrew Svarczkopf ’21, theatre major
Dramaturg — Sarah Tossman* ’20, English-theatre major
Shop Assistants — Makenzie Mettler* ’22, communications/journalism and theatre major, September Tungpalan ’20, art major, and Misha Tungpalan ’20, art and sociology/anthropology major
Costume/Wardrobe Crew — Amanda Castanon ’21, fashion/costume design major, Justine Cooper ’21, fashion/costume design major, Julia Corrado ’21, fashion/costume design major, Jonathan Otero ’20, fashion/design major, Etsub Tolossa ’23, biochemistry major, Emily Webb ’20, fashion/costume design major, and Abigail Yanaway ’22, fashion/costume design major
Booth Crew — Austin Shapiro ’22, fashion major and Zachary Chan ’22, history and secondary education major
Electrics Crew — Matt Ortiz ’21, theatre major
Box Office Manager — Marisa McGrath* Box Office Assistants — Carly Petroff ’21, sociology major
Photographer — John Pankratz*
Puppy Wrangler — Beth Kiester
Poster/Program Design — Heidi Eckman and David Tanner*

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *