Graphic of the side of a face and sun rays on a city skyline

Domino Players earn nine national awards for “A Raisin in the Sun”

The Albright College Domino Players theatre troupe was recently named the winner of nine national Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival awards, after receiving a standing ovation during an invited Festival performance of “A Raisin in the Sun,” in January.
The awards represent acting and invited performances at eight different 2019 Kennedy Center regional festivals. Albright College’s awards and awardees for the performance of “A Raisin in the Sun” include:
Outstanding Production of a Play
Distinguished Performance and Production Ensembles
Distinguished Scenic Design:
Bill Buck, guest artist
Distinguished Lighting Design:
Wayne E. Vettleson, MFA, technical director and associate professor of theatre
Distinguished Performance in a Play (4):

  • Sania Fontaine ’20, theatre major, for her role as Beneatha Yonger
  • Taylor Bianca Cruz Grayson ’20, communications/journalism major, for her role as Ruth Younger
  • Miranda Holliday ’20, political science major, for her role as Lena Younger
  • Erick Slowe-Goldsmith ’20, Spanish major, for his role as Walter Lee Younger

Distinguished Director of a Play or Musical:
Julia Matthews, Ph.D., associate professor of theatre
This spring, the troupe will perform “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street,” Thurs. through Sat., April 11–13, at 7 p.m., and Sun., April 14, at 2 p.m., in Wachovia Theatre, directed by Jeffrey Lentz, M.M. Tickets for performances by the Domino Players are available online or from 10 a.m.-2 p.m., at the Center for the Arts box office (610.921.7547).

Theatre cast
Cast and crew of “A Raisin in the Sun.” Photo by John Pankratz


Albright College’s Kennedy Center Awards

Albright’s Domino Players have been invited to perform at Kennedy festival II 10 times in the last 15 years (2004, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2019).
“Waiting for Godot” (2007) was one of only four productions chosen to perform for the National KCACTF Conference. “Clybourne Park” (2016) and “A Raisin in the Sun” (2019) were named “Outstanding Production of a Play” – recognizing them as the best college production of their years. “A Raisin in the Sun” also received eight other national awards, for distinguished performance, scenic and lighting design, director and performances.

Related News